top of page
  • Writer's pictureRob Sanderson

Changing everything, but keeping it the same

Today's blog is about something that most writers probably experience, particularly when producing a longer piece of work; the need to adjust important details as the story progresses, but without fundamentally changing the story.

I've currently drafted about 80% of my debut novel, A Path of Blades and as I approached the climax (an emotionally-charged duel scene) I realised that for all the necessary character motivations to be consistent, believable and true, I needed to make some minor changes to earlier chapters.

One of these changes was to split one of the facets of the antagonist's character into a separate backup character. This backup character will betray the antagonist at a crucial point in the story which will push him further into the desperation that fuels the climax.

Fortunately/unfortunately (it goes on), I felt that once I'd made that decision I needed to introduce the backup character right at the start, which necessitated a new scene in Chapter One, which needed space made by moving a scene into Chapter Two...

The point I am getting to is that even with all these changes to the nitty-gritty of the novel, the overall story hasn't changed at all. The details hopefully will just help tell the story better, and I like to think that in making the changes I've taken the opportunity to enhance the story and the characters involved.

So even when things change, things also stay the same...
6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Saga of the Twin Swords - it starts here

I just thought I'd post to share a bit about what I'm doing and where I'm heading. My main writing ambition is to share the epic, world-shattering tale of the Saga of the Twin Swords. This story will

A Path of Blades

Just a little insight into my current project - A Path of Blades. As I wrote my novella 'Tann's Last Stand' the character of Ingvar emerged, as did his relationship with Ammie. It was obvious that th

Welcome to my site

Welcome! This is my first blog post on my new author website. Click around and you'll find lots to read as well as information on my current projects. I have been writing stories for as long as I can

bottom of page